Sermon Series Map: Book of Genesis

Attached below is a PDF of my plan for preaching through the book of Genesis, which I just completed in 30 weeks at Trinity Baptist Church. I call this my sermon series map, and I send it out months in advance to my pastoral staff (especially our worship pastor!) and key volunteers who need it. It is helpful in service planning, prayer, and sermon preparation.

This series was somewhat unique in that I approached the book in an expository way, but I didn’t read every single verse. There were multiple sections where I summarized, especially in the genealogies and in the story of Joseph, for example. Also, you will notice that I combined certain accounts that are not adjacent to one another – such as the stories of Abraham and Isaac’s lies about their wives. I think that the main points of truth and application from those texts are basically the same, so I preached them together as one sermon.

I hope this is helpful to you. God bless you.

Leave a comment